Wednesday, February 6, 2008

Chaplet of the Seven Sorrows of Mary

Pray one Hail Mary while meditating on each of the Seven Sorrows of Mary, which are

1. The prophecy of Simeon.
2. The flight into Egypt.
3. The loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple.
4. Mary meeting Jesus carrying His Cross.
5. The Crucifixion.
6. Mary receiving the Body of Jesus from the Cross.
7. The Body of Jesus being placed in the tomb.

Then pray three Hail Marys in remembrance of the tears Mary shed because of the suffering of Her Divine Son.

Concluding prayers:

Pray for us, O Most Sorrowful Virgin, that we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Lord Jesus, we now implore, both for the present and for the hour of our death, the intercession of the Most Blessed Virgin Mary, Your Mother, whose Holy Soul was pierced during Your Passion by a sword of grief. Grant us this favor, O Savior of the world, Who lives and reigns with the Father and the Holy Spirit forever and ever. Amen.

No comments: