Tuesday, March 30, 2010

The American Hockey League

The American Hockey League (AHL) is a 29-team professional ice hockey league based primarily in the United States that serves as the primary developmental circuit for the National Hockey League (NHL). During the 2009-10 season, 29 of the 30 NHL teams have primary affiliation agreements with one of the AHL's active member clubs of which 25 are located in the United States and the remaining four are in Canada. (With no primary AHL affiliate in 2009-10, the Anaheim Ducks' prospects were distributed among a number of AHL clubs.) The league offices are located in Springfield, Massachusetts, and its current president is David Andrews.

The annual playoff champion is awarded the Calder Cup, named for Frank Calder, the first President (1917–1943) of the NHL. The current champions are the Hershey Bears.

2009–10 Teams
Eastern Conference
Division Team Arena City/Area NHL Affiliate Team ECHL/IHL/CHL Affiliate Team(s)
Atlantic Bridgeport Sound Tigers Arena at Harbor Yard Bridgeport, CT New York Islanders Utah Grizzlies/Odessa Jackalopes
Hartford Wolf Pack XL Center Hartford, CT New York Rangers Charlotte Checkers/Mississippi RiverKings
Lowell Devils Tsongas Center at UMass Lowell Lowell, MA New Jersey Devils Trenton Devils
Manchester Monarchs Verizon Wireless Arena Manchester, NH Los Angeles Kings Ontario Reign
Portland Pirates Cumberland County Civic Center Portland, ME Buffalo Sabres vacant
Providence Bruins Dunkin' Donuts Center Providence, RI Boston Bruins Reading Royals
Springfield Falcons MassMutual Center Springfield, MA Edmonton Oilers Stockton Thunder
Worcester Sharks DCU Center Worcester, MA San Jose Sharks Kalamazoo Wings
Adirondack Phantoms Glens Falls Civic Center Glens Falls, NY Philadelphia Flyers Kalamazoo Wings/Quad City Mallards
Albany River Rats Times Union Center Albany, NY Carolina Hurricanes Florida Everblades
Binghamton Senators Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena Binghamton, NY Ottawa Senators Elmira Jackals
Hershey Bears GIANT Center Hershey, PA Washington Capitals South Carolina Stingrays
Norfolk Admirals Norfolk Scope Norfolk, VA Tampa Bay Lightning Colorado Eagles
Syracuse Crunch War Memorial at Oncenter Syracuse, NY Columbus Blue Jackets Johnstown Chiefs
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins Mohegan Sun Arena at Casey Plaza Wilkes-Barre, PA Pittsburgh Penguins Wheeling Nailers
Western Conference
Division Team Arena City/Area NHL Affiliate Team ECHL/IHL/CHL Affiliate Team(s)
North Abbotsford Heat Abbotsford Entertainment & Sports Centre Abbotsford, BC Calgary Flames Utah Grizzlies
Grand Rapids Griffins Van Andel Arena Grand Rapids, MI Detroit Red Wings Toledo Walleye
Hamilton Bulldogs Copps Coliseum Hamilton, ON Montreal Canadiens Cincinnati Cyclones
Lake Erie Monsters Quicken Loans Arena Cleveland, OH Colorado Avalanche Charlotte Checkers
Manitoba Moose MTS Centre Winnipeg, MB Vancouver Canucks Victoria Salmon Kings
Rochester Americans Blue Cross Arena at the War Memorial Rochester, NY Florida Panthers Florida Everblades
Toronto Marlies Ricoh Coliseum Toronto, ON Toronto Maple Leafs Reading Royals
West Chicago Wolves Allstate Arena Rosemont, IL Atlanta Thrashers Gwinnett Gladiators
Houston Aeros Toyota Center Houston, TX Minnesota Wild Johnstown Chiefs
Milwaukee Admirals Bradley Center Milwaukee, WI Nashville Predators Cincinnati Cyclones
Peoria Rivermen Carver Arena Peoria, IL St. Louis Blues Alaska Aces
Rockford IceHogs Rockford MetroCentre Rockford, IL Chicago Blackhawks Toledo Walleye
San Antonio Rampage AT&T Center San Antonio, TX Phoenix Coyotes/Anaheim Ducks Las Vegas Wranglers
Texas Stars Cedar Park Center Cedar Park, TX Dallas Stars Idaho Steelheads/Allen Americans
Future teams
Future Teams
Year Team Arena City/Area NHL Affiliate Team ECHL/IHL/CHL Affiliate Team(s)
2010-11 Charlotte Checkers[2] Time Warner Cable Arena Charlotte, NC Carolina Hurricanes TBD
Oklahoma City[3] Cox Convention Center Oklahoma City, OK Edmonton Oilers TBD

No comments: