Tuesday, April 10, 2012

All the Young Dudes - Mott the Hoople

All the Young Dudes

#491 on the list of Rolling Stone's Top 500 albums ever.

All the Young Dudes is an album by Mott the Hoople, released in 1972. Their initial album for the CBS Records label (Columbia Records in North America), it was a turning point for the then-struggling British band. They were about to break up when David Bowie stepped in and gave them the song "All the Young Dudes". Bowie also produced the album, which took Mott "from potential has-beens to avatars of the glam rock movement". A remastered and expanded version was released by Sony BMG on the Columbia Legacy label in the United Kingdom and the United States on 21st February 2006.

The title track, "All the Young Dudes", was released as a single prior to the album and charted worldwide, becoming the "ultimate '70s glitterkid anthem". "Sweet Jane", a cover of the Velvet Underground song from their 1970 album Loaded, was issued as a single in Canada, the Netherlands, Portugal, Spain and the United States, though not in their home market of the UK. "One of the Boys", originally the B-side of "All the Young Dudes", was also released in North America and Continental Europe.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 491 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

"Ready for Love" was later reworked by Mick Ralphs's later band Bad Company on their self-titled debut.

1. "Sweet Jane" (Lou Reed) – 4:21
2. "Momma's Little Jewel" (Ian Hunter, Peter Watts) – 4:26
3. "All the Young Dudes" (David Bowie) – 3:32
4. "Sucker" (Hunter, Mick Ralphs, Watts) – 5:03
5. "Jerkin' Crocus" (Hunter) – 4:00
6. "One of the Boys" (Hunter, Ralphs) – 6:46
7. "Soft Ground" (Verden Allen) – 3:17
8. "Ready for Love/After Lights" (Ralphs) – 6:47
9. "Sea Diver" (Hunter) – 2:53

Bonus tracks (2006 reissue)

1. "One of the Boys" (Demo version) (Hunter, Ralphs) – 4:18 Produced by Mott the Hoople
2. "Black Scorpio" (Demo version of "Momma’s Little Jewel") (Hunter, Watts) – 3:35 Produced by Mott the Hoople and Muff Winwood
3. "Ride on the Sun" (Demo version of "Sea Diver") (Hunter) – 3:36 Produced by Mott the Hoople
4. "One of the Boys" (UK single version) (Hunter, Ralphs) – 4:21 Produced by Mott the Hoople
5. "All the Young Dudes" (David Bowie; Ian Hunter - vocal) (Bowie) – 4:25
6. "Sucker" (Hunter, Ralph, Watts) – 6:27 Live 1973 at the Hammersmith Odeon; produced by Dale "Buffin" Griffin
7. "Sweet Jane" (Reed) – 5:00 Live 1973 at the Hammersmith Odeon; produced by Dale "Buffin" Griffin

Mott the Hoople
* Ian Hunter – vocals, piano
* Mick Ralphs – guitar, backing vocals, lead vocals on "Ready For Love"
* Verden Allen – organ, vocals on "Soft Ground"
* Pete Overend Watts – bass guitar, vocals
* Dale "Buffin" Griffin – drums, vocals, percussion

Additional personnel
* Ariel Bender – guitar, vocals on bonus tracks 6, 7
* Mick Bolton – organ on bonus track 7
* David Bowie – saxophones, backing vocals, vocals on bonus track 5
* Morgan Fisher – organ, Mellotron on bonus track 3; piano, synthesizer, vocals on bonus tracks 6, 7
* Ray Majors – slide guitar on bonus track 2
* Mick Ronson – strings, brass, arrangement on "Sea Diver"
* Buddy Bauerle - pan flute
* Mike Walls - Hammond B3 organ
* Jeff Hanover - vibraslap

No comments: