Sunday, April 29, 2012

Def Leppard Hysteria


Hysteria is the fourth studio album by the English rock band Def Leppard. It was released on 3 August 1987 through Mercury Records. It is the band's best-selling album to date, selling over 20 million copies worldwide, and spawning six hit singles. The album charted at #1 on the Billboard 200 and #1 on the UK Albums Chart.

Hysteria was produced by Robert John "Mutt" Lange. The title of the album was thought up by drummer Rick Allen, relating to his experiences during the time of his auto accident, and the worldwide media coverage that followed. It's also the last album to feature guitarist Steve Clark, but their next album, Adrenalize is the last to feature his songwriting.

The album was the follow-up to the band's 1983 breakthrough Pyromania. Its creation process took over three years having been plagued by many trials, such as the 31 December 1984 car accident that cost Rick Allen his left arm. Subsequent to the release of the album, Def Leppard published a book entitled Animal Instinct: The Def Leppard Story, written by Rolling Stone magazine Senior Editor David Fricke on the recording process of Hysteria over the 3+ years it took to record the album and the tough times the band went through.

The album has earned critical acclaim from a number of sources. In 1988 Q magazine readers voted Hysteria as the 98th Greatest Album of All Time, while in 2004, the album was ranked at number 472 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Albums of All Time

Side one
No. Title Length
1. "Women" 5:41
2. "Rocket" 6:37
3. "Animal" 4:02
4. "Love Bites" 5:46
5. "Pour Some Sugar on Me" 4:25
6. "Armageddon It" 5:21
7. "Gods of War" 6:37
8. "Don't Shoot Shotgun" 4:26
9. "Run Riot" 4:39
10. "Hysteria" 5:54
11. "Excitable" 4:19
12. "Love and Affection" 4:37

* Joe Elliott – lead vocals
* Steve Clark – guitars
* Phil Collen – guitars
* Rick Savage – bass
* Rick Allen – drums

Additional personnel
* The Bankrupt Brothers (another joking reference to Def Leppard themselves) – backing vocals
* Philip Nicholas – Fairlight programming

* Robert John "Mutt" Lange – producer
* Nigel Green – engineer, assistant engineer, mixing
* Erwin Musper – engineer
* Ronald Prent – engineer
* Mike Shipley – mixing
* Bob Ludwig – mastering
* Howie Weinberg – mastering
* Ross Halfin – photography
* Laurie Lewis – photography
* Mark Flannery – tape operator

Artwork design
* Andie Airfix @ Satori

For those that missed the first posts, I'm doing an homage a day to the 2003 Rolling Stone Magazine list of the top 500 albums ever, one LP a day until I've been through them all. Let me know how they still stand up, and whether you'd include the albums on a list like that! For the original list, go here.

No comments: