Friday, April 6, 2012

Hüsker Dü New Day Rising

New Day Rising

#495 on the RS Top 500 List;

New Day Rising is the third studio album by the American punk rock band Hüsker Dü, released in 1985 on SST Records. Though less ambitious than prior album Zen Arcade, New Day Rising, in some ways, helped set the template for alternative rock for the next decade. Guitarist and lead singer Bob Mould's trademark miasma of fuzz distortion is still present, but with much of the harsh rawness of previous efforts abandoned in favor of a more melodic sound. The album is praised by many critics as the band's best album, though most give that title to Zen Arcade. New Day Rising was ranked thirteenth in Spin's "100 Greatest Albums, 1985-2005." In 2003, the album was ranked number 495 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. The magazine also included the title track in its "100 Greatest Guitar Songs" list, ranking it at #96. The band's continual members were guitarist Bob Mould, bassist Greg Norton, and drummer Grant Hart.

All songs by Bob Mould except as indicated.
Side one

1. "New Day Rising" (Mould, Hüsker Dü) – 2:31
2. "The Girl Who Lives on Heaven Hill" (Grant Hart) – 3:03
3. "I Apologize" – 3:40
4. "Folk Lore" – 1:34
5. "If I Told You" (Hart, Mould) – 2:05
6. "Celebrated Summer" – 3:59
7. "Perfect Example" – 3:16

Side two

1. "Terms of Psychic Warfare" (Hart) – 2:17
2. "59 Times the Pain" – 3:18
3. "Powerline" – 2:22
4. "Books About UFOs" (Hart) – 2:40
5. "I Don't Know What You're Talking About" – 2:20
6. "How to Skin a Cat" (Mould, Hüsker Dü) – 1:52
7. "Whatcha Drinkin'" – 1:30
8. "Plans I Make" (Mould, Hüsker Dü) – 4:16
9. "Erase Today" Unreleased in the U.S. version

1 comment: