Sunday, April 1, 2012

Touch- The Eurythmics

Touch by Eurythmics

Many many moons ago, Rolling Stone magazine did the top 500 albums of "the rock era." I always liked the list, and it is now my ambitious project to do a little homage to all 500. One a day, for the next 500 days. Buckle up, here we go. (If you get antsy and want to see the whole list, it's here. Tell me how you think these albums are still standing up!

#500 Touch- The Eurythmics
Touch is the third studio album by the British new wave duo Eurythmics, released in November 1983. The album was the duo's first UK number-one album, and also reached the top 10 in the US. It has since been certified Platinum in the US and Silver in the UK. It was rated #500 on Rolling Stone's 500 Greatest Albums. By this time, the duo had achieved international success with their hit single "Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This)." The follow-up, Touch, was reputedly recorded and mixed in only about three weeks at Eurythmics' own London studio facility, The Church. In addition, Touch was also the first album to be released simultaneously on record and on the then-new CD format in the United States.

No. Title Length
1. "Here Comes the Rain Again" 4:54
2. "Regrets" 4:43
3. "Right By Your Side" 4:05
4. "Cool Blue" 4:48
5. "Who's That Girl?" 4:46
6. "The First Cut" 4:44
7. "Aqua" 4:36
8. "No Fear, No Hate, No Pain (No Broken Hearts)" 5:24
9. "Paint a Rumour" 7:30

2005 Special edition bonus tracks
No. Title Length
10. "You Take Some Lentils and You Take Some Rice" 3:01
11. "ABC (Freeform)" 2:36
12. "Plus Something Else" 5:20
13. "Paint a Rumour" (Long Version) 7:57
14. "Who's That Girl?" (Live) 3:28
15. "Here Comes the Rain Again" (Live) 3:07
16. "Fame" 2:39


* Annie Lennox - vocals, flute, percussion, keyboard
* Dave Stewart - vocals, dulcimer, bass, guitar, drum programming, keyboard, xylophone

Additional personnel

* Dick Cuthell - trumpet, cornet, flugelhorn
* Martin Dobson - baritone saxophone
* Dean Garcia (later of Curve) - bass
* Michael Kamen - conductor
* British Philharmonic - strings

Live band for the accompanying tour included:

* Victor Martin - synthesizer
* Dean Garcia - bass
* Gill O'Donovan - vocals
* Susie O'List - vocals
* Maggie Ryder - vocals
* Peter Phipps (formerly of the Glitter Band)- drums

* Producer: Dave Stewart

No comments: