Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Wuthering Heights

Wuthering Heights (Import, All Regions)

#73 on the 1998 AFI List of the best 100 American Movies.

Wuthering Heights is a 1939 American black-and-white film directed by William Wyler and produced by Samuel Goldwyn. It is based on the novel, Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë. The film depicts only sixteen of the novel's thirty-four chapters, eliminating the second generation of characters. The novel was adapted for the screen by Charles MacArthur, Ben Hecht and John Huston. The film won the 1939 New York Film Critics Award for Best Film. It earned nominations for eight Academy Awards, including for Best Picture and Best Actor. The 1939 Academy Award for Best Cinematography, black-and-white category, was awarded to Gregg Toland for his work.

In 2007, Wuthering Heights was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry by the Library of Congress as being "culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant".

* Laurence Olivier as Heathcliff
* Merle Oberon as Catherine Earnshaw Linton
* David Niven as Edgar Linton
* Flora Robson as Ellen Dean
* Donald Crisp as Dr. Kenneth
* Geraldine Fitzgerald as Isabella Linton
* Leo G. Carroll as Joseph
* Hugh Williams as Hindley Earnshaw
* Miles Mander as Lockwood
* Cecil Kellaway as Earnshaw
* Cecil Humphreys as Judge Linton
* Sarita Wooton as Cathy - as a Child (as Sarita Wooten)
* Rex Downing as Heathcliff - as a Child
* Douglas Scott as Hindley - as a Child
* Vernon Downing as Giles

No comments: