Thursday, May 24, 2012

DEVO Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo!

Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! Deluxe Remastered Version

Q: Are We Not Men? A: We Are Devo! is the debut album by the American new wave music band Devo. Produced by Brian Eno, it was recorded primarily in Cologne, Germany and released in the U.S. by Warner Bros. Records company in 1978.

The album received somewhat mixed reviews from critics and maximized at number 12 on the UK album charts and number 78 on the U.S. Billboard charts. Recent reviews of the album have been more uniformly positive, with the album charting on several retrospective "best of" lists from publications including Rolling Stone, Pitchfork Media and Spin.

On May 6, 2009 Devo performed the album live in its entirety for the first time as part of the Don't Look Back concert series curated by All Tomorrow's Parties. On September 16, 2009, Warner Bros. and Devo announced a re-release of Q: Are We Not Men? and Freedom of Choice, with a tour performing both albums.

In 1977, David Bowie and Iggy Pop received a tape of Devo demonstration songs from the wife of Michael Aylward, guitarist in another Akron, Ohio band, Tin Huey. Both Iggy and Bowie, as well as Brian Eno and Robert Fripp, expressed interest in producing Devo's first release. At Devo's New York debut show in 1977, Bowie proclaimed that "this is the band of the future, I'm going to produce them in Tokyo this winter." Eventually, Eno was chosen to produce the album at Konrad Plank's studio located near Cologne, Germany. Bowie was busy with filming Just a Gigolo but helped Eno produce the record during weekends. Two tracks, "Come Back Jonee" and "Shrivel-Up", were recorded at Different Fur in San Francisco. All tracks were mixed at Konrad Plank's studio named Conny's Studio. Since Devo was without a record deal, Eno paid for the flights and studio cost for the band, confident that the band would be signed to a record contract. In return for his work on the album, Eno asked for a share of any subsequent deals.

The recording sessions were a source of frustration for Eno and Devo. Eno found the group unwilling to experiment or deviate from their early demonstrations of recorded songs. Devo later admitted that "we were overtly resistant to Eno's ideas. He made up synth parts and really cool sounds for almost every part of the album, but we used them on three or four songs."

All songs written by Mark Mothersbaugh and Gerald V. Casale except where noted:

1. "Uncontrollable Urge" (Mark Mothersbaugh) 3:09
2. "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" (Mick Jagger, Keith Richards) 2:40
3. "Praying Hands" (Gerald V. Casale, M. Mothersbaugh) 2:47
4. "Space Junk" (G.V. Casale, B. Mothersbaugh) 2:14
5. "Mongoloid" (G.V. Casale) 3:44
6. "Jocko Homo" (M. Mothersbaugh) 3:40
Side two
No. Title Length
1. "Too Much Paranoias" (M. Mothersbaugh) 1:57
2. "Gut Feeling" / "(Slap Your Mammy)" (M. Mothersbaugh, Bob Mothersbaugh)/ (G.V. Casale) 4:54
3. "Come Back Jonee" (G.V. Casale, M. Mothersbaugh) 3:47
4. "Sloppy (I Saw My Baby Gettin')" (M. Mothersbaugh, B. Mothersbaugh, G.V. Casale, Gary Jackett) 2:40
5. "Shrivel-Up" (G.V. Casale, M. Mothersbaugh, B. Mothersbaugh) 3:05


* Bob Casale - rhythm guitar, additional keyboards, occasional backing vocals
* Gerald V. Casale - bass, additional keyboards, lead vocals
* Bob Mothersbaugh - lead guitar, backing vocals
* Mark Mothersbaugh - keyboards, occasional guitar, lead vocals
* Alan Myers - drums

Technical personnel

* Brian Eno – producer
* Dave Hutchins - engineer
* Patrick Gleeson – engineer

No comments: