Thursday, May 3, 2012

Elton John- Elton John

Elton John

Elton John is the eponymous second album by English singer/songwriter Elton John, released in 1970. It was his first album, however, released in America, thus commonly assumed by many as his debut, as Empty Sky would not be released in the U.S. until 1975. It includes his breakthrough hit, "Your Song", and helped establish his career during what was considered the "singer-songwriter" era of popular music. In the U.S. it was certified Gold on 2/17/1971 by the R.I.A.A. In the same year, it was nominated for the Grammy Award for Album of the Year. In 2003, the album was ranked number 468 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. This was the first of many Elton John albums to be produced by Gus Dudgeon.

All songs by Elton John and Bernie Taupin.
"Your Song" – 4:02
"I Need You to Turn To" – 2:35
"Take Me to the Pilot" – 3:47
"No Shoe Strings on Louise" – 3:31
"First Episode at Hienton" – 4:48
"Sixty Years On" – 4:35
"Border Song" – 3:22
"The Greatest Discovery" – 4:12
"The Cage" – 3:28
"The King Must Die" – 5:04
"Bad Side of the Moon" – 3:15
"Grey Seal" [Original version] – 3:35
"Rock And Roll Madonna" – 4:17

On the album released in Portugal, a French horn is used in the introduction to "The Greatest Discovery" instead of a cello as is found on all other versions. An extended version of the introduction to "Sixty Years On" is available on the 1990 box set "To Be Continued".
When MCA Records re-issued this album on cassette tape in the 1980s, "I Need You To Turn To" and "The Cage" were swapped in the album running order.
The original German release from 1970(Hansa #807) opens with the song "Rock and Roll Madonna", and the song "I Need You To Turn To" does not appear on the LP. The rest of the tracks and the running order remain the same as the worldwide release.
The album was remastered as a multichannel Super Audio CD in 2004.

Elton John - piano, harpsichord, vocals
Frank Clark - acoustic bass
Colin Green - guitar, Spanish guitar
Roland Harker - guitar
Clive Hicks - acoustic guitar, rhythm guitar, 12 string guitar
Alan Parker - rhythm guitar
Caleb Quaye - guitar
Les Hurdle - bass
Dave Richmond - bass
Alan Weighall - bass
Brian Dee - organ
Diana Lewis - Moog synthesizer
Paul Buckmaster - cello
Skaila Kanga - harp
David Katz - violin
Terry Cox - drums
Dennis Lopez - percussion
Barry Morgan - drums
Tex Navarra - percussion
Madeline Bell - background vocals
Tony Burrows - background vocals
Roger Cook - background vocals
Lesley Duncan - background vocals
Kay Garner - background vocals
Tony Hazzard - background vocals
Barbara Moore - vocals, choir, chorus

Producer: Gus Dudgeon
Engineer: Robin Geoffrey Cable
Editing: Gus Skinas
Remastering: Tony Cousins
Digital transfers: Ricky Graham
Surround sound: Greg Penny
Lyricist: Bernie Taupin
Arranger: Paul Buckmaster
Orchestra contractor: David Katz
Art direction: David Larkham
Liner notes: Gus Dudgeon, John Tobler

No comments: