Monday, May 14, 2012

Jackson Browne- For Everyman

For Everyman

For Everyman is the second album by American singer/songwriter Jackson Browne, released in 1973 (see 1973 in music). The album peaked at number 43 on the Billboard 200 chart and the single "Redneck Friend" reached number 85 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. In 2003, the album was ranked number 457 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

For Everyman marks the debut of multi-instrumentalist David Lindley's long association with Browne. Guest artists included David Crosby, Glenn Frey, Elton John (credited as Rockaday Johnnie), Don Henley, Joni Mitchell and Bonnie Raitt.
The title track was written by Browne in response to the apocalyptic "Wooden Ships", a song written by Crosby, Stephen Stills and Paul Kanter. His own version of "These Days" appears here after having been previously covered by Nico and Gregg Allman. Nico was the first to record the song in 1967. Browne later commented "When [Allman] did it I thought that he really unlocked a power in that song that I sort of then emulated in my version. I started playing the piano. I wasn't trying to sing it like Gregg; I couldn't possibly. I took the cue, playin' this slow walk. But it was written very sort of, kind of a little more flatpicking." "Take It Easy" was written by Browne and Frey and became the Eagles first single, released on May 1, 1972.
At two points during the album, Browne crossfades tracks into one another. The opening track, "Take it Easy" is crossfaded into the next track "Our Lady of the Well." The scenario repeats again at the end of the recording when the second to the last track, "Sing My Songs to Me" is crossfaded into the title track, "For Everyman." This technique was popularized by The Beatles across the second side of the Abbey Road LP. It was later used by Lindsey Buckingham & Keith Olsen in 1973 throughout the mastering of both sides of the Buckingham Nicks album.
For Everyman was certified as a Gold record in 1975 and Platinum in 1989 by the RIAA.
The cover is a depiction of Browne's childhood Highland Park, California home, "The Abbey".

All songs by Jackson Browne, except where noted
"Take It Easy" (Browne, Glenn Frey) – 3:39
"Our Lady of the Well" – 3:51
"Colors of the Sun" – 4:26
"I Thought I Was a Child" – 3:43
"These Days" – 4:41
"Red Neck Friend" – 3:56
"The Times You've Come" – 3:39
"Ready or Not" – 3:33
"Sing My Songs to Me" – 3:25
"For Everyman" – 6:20

Jackson Browne - acoustic guitar, guitar, piano, rhythm guitar, keyboard, vocals
David Crosby - harmony vocals
Craig Doerge - piano
Wilton Felder - bass
Glenn Frey - vocals, guitar, harmony vocals
Doug Haywood - bass, vocals, harmony vocals
Don Henley - vocals, guitar, harmony vocals, drums
Elton John - piano (on "Red Neck Friend" - credited as Rockaday Johnnie)
Jim Keltner - drums
Sneaky Pete Kleinow - pedal steel
Russ Kunkel - drums
David Lindley - acoustic guitar, fiddle, guitar, violin, electric guitar, steel guitar, slide guitar, electric fiddle
Gary Mallaber - drums
Mickey McGee - drums
Joni Mitchell - piano, electric piano
Spooner Oldham - organ
David Paich - piano
Bill Payne - piano, keyboard
Bonnie Raitt - vocals, harmony vocals
Leland Sklar - bass
Mike Utley - organ, keyboard

Production notes:
Jackson Browne – producer
John Haeny – engineer
Al Schmitt – engineer
Kent Nebergall – assistant engineer
Rick Tarantini – assistant engineer
Al Schmitt – mixing
Greg Ladanyi – mastering
Anthony Hudson – art direction, design

1 comment:

Baur said...

Never heard of these guys before I'll look em up!