Friday, May 11, 2012

Love It to Death - Alice Cooper

Love It to Death

Love It to Death is the third album by Alice Cooper, released in 1971. Hits include "Ballad of Dwight Fry", "Is It My Body", and one of Cooper's trademark songs, "I'm Eighteen". After two failed albums, this was the album that brought the Alice Cooper band into the mainstream. Much credit is generally given to producer Bob Ezrin, cleaning up the band's sound with fresh ideas and making it more accessible, most notably on the track, 'I'm Eighteen'. It originally was a much longer song, and in more of a psychedelic vein like the band's first two albums, which contained several longer songs.
The album cover caused much controversy at the time of its release. Early pressings show Cooper's thumb sticking out of his pants, thus giving the illusion of a penis (see cover photo). This led Warner Brothers to censor it (four different versions of the front cover exist on LP). Alice Cooper's thumb along with his right arm is clearly airbrushed out on censored versions. The original CD release, uses the most common censored LP cover for the booklet cover.
In 2003, the album was ranked number 460 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time. Both "Second Coming" and "Ballad of Dwight Fry" were covered by alternative metal band The Melvins for their album Lysol. "Is It My Body" was covered by Sonic Youth. On December 8, 2009, the album was reissed by audiophile label Audio Fidelity in a limited-edition 24-karat gold CD. Remastered by Steve Hoffman, it also featured the original uncensored artwork.
The first issue of the album was on Straight Records, a company created by Frank Zappa and manager Herb Cohen. By the time the album became a success it had already been re-issued by Warner Bros. Records, who were the original distributors of the Straight label.
Love It to Death reached #35 on the Billboard album chart.

Side One
"Caught in a Dream" (Michael Bruce) – 3:10
"I'm Eighteen" (Alice Cooper, Glen Buxton, Bruce, Dennis Dunaway, Neal Smith) – 3:00
"Long Way to Go" (Bruce) – 3:04
"Black Juju" (Dunaway) – 9:09
Side Two
"Is It My Body" (Cooper, Buxton, Bruce, Dunaway, Smith) – 2:39
"Hallowed Be My Name" (Smith) – 2:29
"Second Coming" (Cooper) – 3:04
"Ballad of Dwight Fry" (Cooper, Bruce) – 6:33
"Sun Arise" (Harry Butler, Rolf Harris) – 3:50

Alice Cooper - Vocals, Harmonica
Glen Buxton - Lead Guitar
Michael Bruce - Rhythm Guitar, Keyboards
Dennis Dunaway - Bass Guitar
Neal Smith - Drums
Bob Ezrin - Keyboards

No comments: