Monday, May 21, 2012

Steve Miller Band- Fly Like an Eagle

Fly Like an Eagle

Number 450 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time

Fly Like an Eagle is the ninth studio album by American rock group Steve Miller Band. The album was released in May 1976 (see 1976 in music) by Capitol Records in North America and Mercury Records in Europe. Three singles were released from the album in 1976.

In 2003, the album was ranked number 450 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

In 2006 the album was re-released to celebrate its 30th Anniversary. The CD is digitally remastered and includes three bonus tracks and a bonus DVD features a concert performance at Mountain View, California's Shoreline Amphitheater in 2005 with over two hours of music in 5.1 Surround Sound. Guest musicians include George Thorogood and Joe Satriani. The DVD also features a lengthy interview with Steve Miller, archive footage, never-before-seen photographs, and early demo recordings.

Side one

1. "Space Intro" (Steve Miller) – 1:15
2. "Fly Like an Eagle" (Miller) – 4:42
3. "Wild Mountain Honey" (Steve McCarty) – 4:51
4. "Serenade" (Miller, Chris McCarty) – 3:13
5. "Dance, Dance, Dance" (Miller, Joseph Cooper, Brenda Cooper) – 2:18
6. "Mercury Blues" (K. C. Douglas) – 3:30

Side two

7. "Take the Money and Run" (Miller) – 2:50
8. "Rock'n Me" (Miller) – 3:05
9. "You Send Me" (Sam Cooke) * – 2:42
10. "Blue Odyssey" (Miller) – 1:00
11. "Sweet Maree" (Miller) – 4:16
12. "The Window" (Miller, Jason Cooper) – 4:19

(*) Contains a brief sample from Cheech & Chong's comedy routine "Championship Wrestling" (from Cheech & Chong's Wedding Album, 1974) inserted after the first verse. The sample includes the words "... c'mon, don't be nervous!"

* Steve Miller – vocals, guitar, keyboards, sitar, producer
* Lonnie Turner – bass guitar
* Gary Mallaber – drums, percussion
* John Palladino – executive producer
* Mike Fusaro – recording engineer
* Jim Gains – mastering
* Susan McCardle – photography
* David Stahl – photography
* James Cotton – harmonica on "Blue Odyssey" and "Sweet Maree"
* Kenny Johnson – drums on "The Window"
* Charles Calamise – bass on "The Window"
* Curley Cooke – guitar on "The Window"
* Les Dudek – guitar on "The Window"
* John McFee – dobro on "Dance, Dance, Dance"
* Joachim Young – B3 organ on "Fly Like an Eagle" and "The Window"

1 comment:

Tony Van Helsing said...

Funny how I'd forgotten that vinyl had two sides.