Sunday, June 17, 2012

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

#20 (1998) and #33 (2007) on the AFI Top 100 Movies List
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest is a 1975 American drama film directed by MiloŇ° Forman and based on the 1962 novel of the same name by Ken Kesey.

The film was the second to win all five major Academy Awards (Best Picture, Actor in Lead Role, Actress in Lead Role, Director, and Screenplay) following It Happened One Night in 1934, an accomplishment not repeated until 1991 by The Silence of the Lambs.

The film is #20 on the American Film Institute's 100 Years... 100 Movies list. It was shot at Oregon State Hospital in Salem, Oregon, which was also the setting of the novel.

* Jack Nicholson as Randle McMurphy
* Louise Fletcher as Nurse Ratched
* William Redfield as Dale Harding
* Will Sampson as "Chief" Bromden
* Brad Dourif as Billy Bibbit
* Sydney Lassick as Charlie Cheswick
* Danny DeVito as Martini
* Christopher Lloyd as Max Taber
* Dean R. Brooks as Dr. John Spivey
* William Duell as Jim Sefelt
* Vincent Schiavelli as Frederickson
* Delos V. Smith as Scanlon
* Michael Berryman as Ellis
* Nathan George as Attendant Washington
* Lan Fendors as Nurse Itsu
* Mimi Sarkisian as Nurse Pilbow
* Mews Small as Candy
* Scatman Crothers as Orderly Turkle
* Louisa Moritz as Rose

1 comment:

icyHighs said...

Impossible not to get goosebumps every time somebody so much as mentions this movie.